Environmental issues


Murray Lower Darling Environmental Water Advisory Group

The Murray Lower Darling Environmental Water Advisory Group (EWAG) provides advice to OEH on managing environmental water within the area of operation of the Water Sharing Plan for the New South Wales Murray and Lower Darling Regulated Rivers Water Sources 2003.


Includes representatives from:

  • Murray Local Land Services (chair)
  • Western Local Land Services
  • Forestry Corporation of NSW
  • Department of Primary Industries - Fisheries
  • Murray-Darling Freshwater Research Centre
  • Landholder representatives from the State Water Murray-Darling Customer Service Committee
  • Murray-Darling Wetlands Working Group
  • Murray Lower Darling Rivers Indigenous Nations
  • Department of Primary Industries - NSW Office of Water
  • Office of Environment and Heritage (both Regional Operations and Parks and Wildlife groups)
  • State Water Corporation


  • Commonwealth Environmental Water Holder
  • Murray-Darling Basin Authority

Other key groups

The  following groups are not members of the EWAG but are kept informed of environmental watering events:

  • Murray Local Land Services Technical Advisory Group
  • Riverina and Murray Regional Organisation of Councils (RAMROC)

Contacting the EWAG

Paul Childs - Senior Environmental Water Management Officer - Murray Lower Darling
Office of Environment and Heritage
PO Box 544, Albury NSW 2640


Page last updated: 07 March 2014