Grants available for Aboriginal community groups to help protect Aboriginal cultural landscapes in NSW

The NSW Environmental Trust today launched its new-look Protecting Our Places grant program and encouraged Aboriginal organisations to apply for this latest funding round, ahead of NAIDOC week 2017 celebrations (2-9 July 2017).

Flowerdale Lagoon, Wagga Wagga, a declared Aboriginal Place

Michael Wright, Acting Chief Executive, NSW Office of Environment and Heritage and Trust Secretary said the aim of the grant program is to empower Aboriginal community groups to protect, conserve and restore cultural landscapes and waterways that are of importance to local Aboriginal communities.

"The Protecting Our Places grant program provides opportunities for Aboriginal organisations to undertake projects that contribute to ongoing sustainable management of significant Aboriginal cultural landscapes in NSW," said Mr Wright.

"For this latest funding round, the Trust redesigned aspects of the grants program after consultation with Aboriginal grantees, stakeholders and in line with recommendations from the latest grant program evaluation.

"The new program also provides increased opportunities for grantees to build the capacity of their organisation as each successful grantee now has access to additional funding for organisational capacity building and mentoring support," said Mr Wright.

Grants of up to $65,000 over three years are now available over two stages for the 2017-18 Protecting Our Places Grant Program:

  • Stage 1: Planning - 6 to 12 months in duration
  • Stage 2: Implementation - 18 to 24 months in duration

This latest funding round follows the 2014 Protecting Our Places Grant Program when over $580,000 was shared between 18 projects.

Mr Wright said it's fitting the revamped grants are open for applications ahead of NAIDOC week celebrations as the grant projects seek to share and protect Aboriginal cultural knowledge and contribute to the improvement and the management of environmental and cultural resources on Country.

Applications are open until 4 September 2017.

For a list of eligibility criteria visit: Protecting our Places grants