Monitoring air quality in rural NSW

Our monitoring network in rural New South Wales includes 4 regional centres.

Rural New South Wales covers many separate airsheds, and has a relatively low population density with no significant industrial sources of pollution. It is therefore unlike any of the other regions (Sydney, Illawarra, Newcastle and Central Coast, and Upper Hunter).

Rural centres

We monitor air quality at 4 rural centres in New South Wales: Bathurst (on the Central Tablelands), Tamworth (Northwest Slopes), Albury (Southwest Slopes) and Wagga Wagga North (Southwest Slopes). We monitor fine particles PM10 and PM2.5 as well as meteorological variables.

Data from the regional sites are reported hourly, as concentrations and AQI values.


For the regional sites we provide hourly updated concentrations and an Air Quality Index (AQI)You can also find historical air quality information on the regional centres in OEH's annual air quality monitoring reports.