# Heritage Act Delegations: City of Sydney Council excluded sites and State agency delegations



To cut red tape and reduce assessment timeframes, the Heritage Council of NSW has delegated some of its functions under the *Heritage Act* 1977 to City of Sydney Council. This delegation applies within the City of Sydney local government area, but some sites are subject to State agency delegations (or exemptions) and others are excluded; these FAQs address these exclusions.

### What is delegated authority?

There are several Heritage Council delegations in place to allow timely decision making for changes to State Heritage Register (SHR) listed places. For example, senior officers within Heritage NSW, Place Management NSW, and Sydney Water all currently exercise various delegations under the *Heritage Act 1977*. The City of Sydney Council can now also grant approvals for changes to SHR places.

#### What sites do the State agency delegations cover?

The delegations held by Sydney Water and Place Management NSW relate to SHR places that these agencies either own or manage and sit alongside the City of Sydney Council delegation. All agencies with delegation will continue to make decisions for their SHR places within the City of Sydney Local Government Area. Sydney Living Museums have an exemption from approval for SHR places they own or manage too. Information about which SHR places are covered by these State agency delegations or exemptions can be obtained from either Heritage NSW or the agency.

#### What other SHR places have been excluded?

There are eight SHR places that are excluded from the delegation to City of Sydney Council. All decisions for these sites will continue to be made by the Heritage Council or Heritage NSW. The eight excluded SHR items are:

- 1. Sydney Opera House (SHR 01685)
- 2. Sydney Harbour Bridge, approaches and viaducts (road and rail) (SHR 00781)
- 3. Glebe Island Bridge (SHR 01914)
- 4. Sydney Terminal and Central Railway Stations Group (SHR 01255)
- 5. Redfern Railway Station group (SHR 01234)
- 6. Eveleigh Railway Workshops (SHR 01140)
- 7. Eveleigh Railway Workshops machinery (SHR 01141)
- 8. Cyprus-Hellene Club (SHR 00773)

#### Why have these State heritage items been excluded?

A dedicated team in Heritage NSW manages complex projects which require a single point of contact to ensure consistency of advice and decision making. In addition, the Heritage Council has a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Transport for NSW (formerly Roads and Maritime Services) to manage their applications and exemptions, including those for the Sydney Harbour Bridge and Glebe Island Bridge.

Relevant SHR sites have therefore been excluded from the delegation to City of Sydney Council to enable Heritage NSW to continue to: deliver identified projects; collaborate with Government Agencies; meet the requirements of the MOU; and manage client relationships and engagement.

#### Where do I lodge my application?

All applications, exemptions, or exceptions for works to SHR places covered by State agency delegations should continue to be lodged with the State agency.

All applications for the above listed excluded sites should be lodged with the Heritage Council.

Integrated Development Applications will continue to be lodged via the NSW Planning Portal

#### Have the timeframes changed?

Statutory timeframes have not changed. Application timeframes will remain the same for all application types for excluded sites and SHR places covered by State agency delegations.

## For more information about the Heritage Act delegations to City of Sydney Council, please refer to the general FAQs or contact Heritage NSW.

T: 02 9873 8500 or

E: heritagemailbox@environment.nsw.gov.au