



United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization Greater Blue Mountains Area inscribed on the World Heritage List in 2000



ADVISORY COMMITTEE meeting update November 2016

The NSW and Cwth Environment Ministers appointed members of the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area (GBMWHA) Advisory Committee to August 2016. The first meeting for 2016 was held on Friday 25 and Saturday 26 at Katoomba.

Seven 'original' members:

Doug Benson (Botanical/ecological) Glenda Chalker (Indigenous/traditional owner) Julia James (Water quality/aquatic environment) Bob Anderson (Outdoor self reliant recreation) Tara Cameron (Conservation organisation) Dylan Jones (Tourism) Brad Staggs (local government) Allan Stapleford (local government) Are joined by three new members: Bruce Leaver (Chair) Ian Baird (Zoological/ecological) Ruth Longdin (Archaeological/cultural heritage)

The vacant Indigenous position will be recruited shortly.

The incoming Chair welcomed all to the meeting and attendees introduced themselves, describing their background and suggested objectives for the coming term. The committee thanked outgoing Chair Professor Richard Mackay and members Dr Judy Smith for their commitment and contribution to the committee over the last 10 years and to Prof Ann McGrath since 2013.

The committee resolved to congratulate Dr Judy Smith for the publication of a series of annotated checklists for the vertebrate fauna, one each for the native mammals, birds, reptiles and frogs in the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area. These are available from: <u>http://bmnature.info/fauna-gbmwha.shtml</u>

The committee noted the very long National Heritage List (NHL) assessment process following the nomination in 2005 for the additional values of the existing GBMWHA. The NHL assessment now includes assessment of some adjacent areas and the additions to the 8 reserves of the GBMWHA since World Heritage listing, as well as of additional values of the GBMWHA.



The committee also noted the 40 mandatory conditions for the proposed Western Sydney Airport, set by the Cwth Environment Minister which include that the airspace and flight path design is to be referred to the Minister for Environment under the EPBC Act; and for noise mitigation on the GBMHWA particularly on scenic/tourism values and wilderness areas.

The Committee and guests enjoyed meeting Federal Member for Macquarie Ms Susan Templeman MP, Member for Blue Mountains Ms Trish Doyle MP and Cr Don McGregor over dinner to discuss local issues. The highlight of the meeting was enjoying the recently upgraded Three Sisters Walking Tracks with members of the NPWS Blue Mountains Walking Track Team.

The Advisory Committee acknowledges the Darkinjung, Darug, Dharawal, Gundungurra, Wanaruah and Wiradjuri language groups as the traditional custodians of the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area.



Representatives of those who share connection to Country form the GBMWHA Aboriginal Reference Group who meet regularly to provide advice to the Advisory Committee.

The GBMWHA Advisory Committee is made up of scientific, technical, Aboriginal and community members appointed by the State and Commonwealth Environment Ministers. The Strategic Plan for the Area is used by the Committee to guide its operations and in providing advice to those Ministers regarding issues relevant to the Area.

The Advisory Committee meets quarterly in different locations around the million hectares of spectacular national parks and reserves that comprise the GBMWHA, recognised and protected for its outstanding universal values.

For more information contact the World Heritage Executive Officer 0419 307 099 or <u>gbm.worldheritage@environment.nsw.gov.au</u>