Our organisation

There are seven main divisions and four trust entities within the Office of Environment and Heritage (OEH) portfolio.

The 7 main divisions are:

  • Park Operations
  • Park Programs
  • Regional Operations
  • Heritage
  • Policy
  • Science
  • Strategy and Performance

Together, Park Operations and Park Programs form the NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service and manage the national parks system in NSW.

The 4 trust entities within the OEH portfolio are:

  • Taronga Zoo (including the Western Plains Zoo)
  • Western Sydney and Parramatta Park
  • Botanic Gardens and Centennial Parklands
  • Biodiversity Conservation Trust

Download the OEH organisational chart (PDF xxKB).

National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS)

NPWS manages, conserves and cares for more than 7 million hectares of land in national parks and reserves. NPWS links customer, conservation and cultural outcomes in a sustainable way by building participation in the management and use of parks. The Park Operations and Park Programs Divisions together manage the national parks system in NSW.

Regional Operations

Regional Operations Division delivers integrated and customer focused services at the regional and local level to strengthen communities and partnerships across NSW.

Services include programs and grants to support:

  • land use planning and private land conservation
  • threatened species
  • native vegetation
  • education and community engagement
  • energy efficiency
  • volunteering
  • environmental water management
  • coast and flood protection
  • compliance and enforcement
  • adapting to climate change.


Heritage Division provides an integrated approach to conserving Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal heritage, works with the community to list items on the State Heritage Register, to declare Aboriginal Places and to register state shipwrecks.

It assesses applications to change listed items, repatriates Aboriginal ancestral remains, administers grants for heritage conservation and provides secretariat services to the Heritage Council and the Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee.


The Policy Division supports the Minister for the Environment and Minister for Heritage and the OEH Executive by providing policy advice and leading the development of strategic policy.

It leads OEH’s engagement in whole-of-government policy formation, Cabinet processes, legislative reforms and intergovernmental affairs.


Science Division provides scientific evidence and knowledge to underpin environmental decision making, regulation and service delivery.

Strategy and Performance

Strategy and Performance division leads the development and implementation of strategic planning, corporate reporting and all aspects of program development, implementation and monitoring across a portfolio of complex programs and projects.

It also oversees the strategic corporate communications function, provision of Ministerial support and services and delivery of strategic advice to the Chief Executive.