Nature conservation

Biodiversity Reform

A brief overview of NSW

NSW has a total area of 80,160,000 hectares (801,600 square kilometres). The Macintyre and Dumaresq Rivers form part of the State boundary with Queensland, while the Murray River forms part of the southern NSW-Victorian boundary.

Seventeen of the 85 Australian bioregions are represented in NSW, but only two of these 17 bioregions lie wholly within the NSW boundary, while the other 15 are shared with the bordering States: Victoria, South Australia and Queensland. The bioregion with the largest area in NSW is the Darling Riverine Plains Bioregion.

NSW - the bioregional landscape
The 17 bioregions in NSW cover a wide diversity of landscapes. Get an outline of their total areas and the states they occupy.

NSW - climate
Find out basic climate details for the state.

NSW - topography and geomorphology
Get a quick history of the formation of the state's landscape, and find out about the three main topographical divisions.

NSW - biodiversity
Read a brief outline of the state's variety of plants, animals and ecological communities.

NSW - regional history
Get an overview of the Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal occupation of the state, with a particular focus on the history of western NSW.

NSW - conservation mechanisms
Find out about the various conservation mechanisms available across the state. See how representative and effective these mechanisms are.

NSW - References
See details of all the publications referred to in this introductory overview of NSW.

Page last updated: 18 April 2016