Nature conservation

Biodiversity Reform

Channel Country - bioregional-scale conservation

The area of the Channel Country Bioregion under conservation management is about 272,949 hectares or 19.09 per cent of the bioregion. With only 3 of the 23 available mechanisms deployed, the range being applied to land management is relatively small.

As with most bioregions, national parks and nature reserves include the largest area of land in conservation-oriented management.

Sturt National Park, which extends to the adjacent Simpson-Strzelecki Dunefields Bioregion, is the only national park in the bioregion, occupying 189,044 hectares or 13.22 per cent of its area. None of these reserves is also managed as wilderness areas under the Wilderness Act 1987.

Most of the Pindera Downs Aboriginal Area occurs in the bioregion and occupies 0.66 per cent of its area. There are no historic sites, no state recreation areas and no regional parks in the bioregion.

There are also no voluntary conservation agreements in the Channel Country Bioregion. There are however, 3 wildlife refuges on properties occupying 74,518 hectares or 5.21 per cent of the bioregion.

No property agreements (Native Vegetation Act 1997) have been entered into with landholders in the bioregion.

There are no flora reserves or State forests (Forestry Act 1916) in the bioregion.

Note: This information is an extract from 'The Bioregions of New South Wales: their biodiversity, conservation and history' (2003) NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service, Hurstville and the data is current for 2003, the date of the publication.

Documents to download


Parks and reserves in this bioregion



Next page: Channel Country - subregions
Previous page: Channel Country - regional history
Up to contents page: Channel Country Bioregion
Page last updated: 24 February 2017