Nature conservation

Biodiversity Reform

Cobar Peneplain - bioregional-scale conservation

Areas under conservation management in the bioregion occupy 182,623.45 hectares or 2.49 per cent of the total. Mechanisms provided for under the NPW Act 1974 are responsible for most of the conserved area. The majority of this is taken up by the 2 national parks and 9 nature reserves which occupy 116,450.90 hectares or 1.59 per cent of the bioregion. None of these reserves is also managed as wilderness under the Wilderness Act 1987.

Of the remaining conservation tenures under the NPW Act 1974, there are no Aboriginal areas, no state recreation areas and no regional parks in the bioregion, but there is one historic site of 1,365.09 hectares or 0.02 per cent of the bioregion.

No landholders have entered into voluntary conservation agreements under the NPW Act 1974, although landholders on 11 properties have agreed to wildlife refuges and these collectively occupy an area of 60,077.73 hectares or 0.82 per cent of the bioregion.

Under the provisions of the Forestry Act 1916 State Forests occupy an area of 81,139.24 hectares or 1.11 per cent of the bioregion, and there is one flora reserve which occupies 1,703.70 hectares or 0.02 per cent of the bioregion.

There are six property agreements under the NVC Act 1997 with an area of 2,481.55 hectares or 0.03 per cent of the bioregion.

Note: This information is an extract from 'The Bioregions of New South Wales: their biodiversity, conservation and history' (2003) NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service, Hurstville and the data is current for 2003, the date of the publication.

Documents to download


Parks and reserves in this bioregion


Next page: Cobar Peneplain - subregions
Previous page: Cobar Peneplain - regional history
Up to contents page: Cobar Peneplain Bioregion
Page last updated: 24 February 2017