Nature conservation

Biodiversity Reform

South East Corner Bioregion

As the name suggests, this bioregion is in the southeast corner of NSW with a total area of 2,707,639 hectares that extends into Victoria. The NSW portion of the bioregion is in two parts; the main body of the bioregion is bordered by Sydney Basin Bioregion to the north and the South Eastern Highlands Bioregion to the west, while a small outlying fragment lies between the Australian Alps and South Eastern Highlands bioregions. Together these areas occupy 48.09 per cent of the bioregion at an area of 1,302,141 hectares or 1.63 per cent of NSW.

The bioregion includes the towns of Batemans Bay, Moruya, Narooma, Bermagui, Bega, Merimbula and Eden, most of the bioregion's population living in the towns along the coast.

The Clyde, Deua, Moruya, Buckenbowra, Brogo, Wadbilliga, Towamba, Genoa and Tuross Rivers traverse the bioregion with the main catchments being the Clyde, Deua, Tuross, Bega, Towamba and Genoa catchments.

South East Corner - climate
See average climate figures for the bioregion.

South East Corner - landform
Get topography, geology, geomorphology, geodiversity and soil information.

South East Corner - biodiversity
Find out about plant communities, flora, fauna and wetlands in the bioregion.

South East Corner - regional history
Learn about Aboriginal cultural heritage in this area, together with the history of the region since colonisation.

South East Corner - bioregional-scale conservation
Find out how much of this bioregion is protected by parks and reserves, and learn about other conservation programs in the region.

South East Corner - subregions
Get basic information about the finer-scale subregions that make up this bioregion.

South East Corner - references
See a list of publications and websites which can provide more information about this bioregion.

South East Corner - maps and printable versions
Download and print all the information in this bioregion overview as an Acrobat (PDF) document. View maps showing rivers, topography, vegetation, conservation reserves and subregions.

Page last updated: 18 April 2016