Nature conservation

Biodiversity Reform

South Eastern Highlands Bioregion

The South Eastern Highlands Bioregion lies just inland from the coastal bioregions of the South East Corner and the Sydney Basin, bounded by the Australian Alps and South Western Slopes bioregions to the south and west. The bioregion includes most of the ACT and extends south into Victoria.

With a total area of about 8,749,155 hectares (IBRA 5.1), 55.9 per cent or 4,888,633 hectares of the South Eastern Highlands Bioregion lies in NSW. The bioregion occupies approximately 6.11 per cent of the state.

The bioregion includes the towns of Orange, Bathurst and Lithgow in the north, Goulburn, Queanbeyan and Yass in the centre and Cooma, Jindabyne and Bombala in the south.

The Lachlan, Macquarie, Murray, Murrumbidgee, Shoalhaven and Snowy Rivers all flow across the bioregion.

South Eastern Highlands - climate
See average climate figures for the bioregion.

South Eastern Highlands - landform
Get topography, geology, geomorphology, geodiversity and soil information.

South Eastern Highlands - biodiversity
Find out about plant communities, flora, fauna and wetlands in the bioregion.

South Eastern Highlands - regional history
Learn about Aboriginal cultural heritage in this area, together with the history of the region since colonisation.

South Eastern Highlands - bioregional-scale conservation
Find out how much of this bioregion is protected by parks and reserves, and learn about other conservation programs in the region.

South Eastern Highlands - subregions
Get basic information about the finer-scale subregions that make up this bioregion.

South Eastern Highlands - references
See a list of publications and websites which can provide more information about this bioregion.

South Eastern Highlands - maps and printable versions
Download and print all the information in this bioregion overview as an Acrobat (PDF) document. View maps showing rivers, topography, vegetation, conservation reserves and subregions.

Page last updated: 18 April 2016