Coastal erosion 'hot spots'

DECCW has identified 15 coastal erosion 'hot spots' in 11 council areas. These locations have been defined as areas where five or more houses and/or a public road are located in a current (or immediate) coastal hazard area, as identified in a coastal hazard study. There are other locations along the coastline where either a smaller number of houses or only residential land (ie no houses) are in a coastal hazard area.

The 'hot spot' locations are noted in the table below:

 Local council areaLocation 
 Byron Shire CouncilBelongil Beach 
 Ballina Shire CouncilLennox Head
 Clarence Valley CouncilBrooms Head 
 Clarence Valley CouncilWooli
 Port Macquarie-Hastings CouncilLake Cathie
 Greater Taree City CouncilOld Bar Beach
 Great Lakes CouncilWinda Woppa - Jimmys Beach
 Wyong Shire CouncilThe Entrance North
 Wyong Shire CouncilNoraville
 Wyong Shire CouncilNorah Head
 Gosford City CouncilWamberal/Terrigal
 Pittwater CouncilBilgola
 Pittwater CouncilMona Vale
 Warringah CouncilCollaroy/Narrabeen
 Eurobodalla Shire CouncilBatemans Bay

Councils with erosion 'hot spots' will be required to prepare coastal erosion emergency action plans by mid-2011 and coastal zone management plans by the end of 2011 or as otherwise agreed.

Some of these 'hot spot' locations are on the schedule of authorised locations in the draft Minister's Requirements under the Coastal Protection Act, where landowners may be able to place emergency coastal protection works under strict conditions (following passage of the Coastal Protection and Other Legislation Amendment Bill). If there is a public road between houses and the beach at these 'hot spots', it is proposed that landowners would not be able to place emergency works. There are other authorised locations on the schedule in the draft Minister's Requirements where landowners may be able to place emergency works - these are locations where less than five houses are in an identified coastal hazard area.

Page last updated: 26 February 2011