Culture and heritage


Heritage Council members

The Heritage Council is created by the Heritage Act 1977 (NSW).

The Heritage Council's membership reflects a cross-section of community, government and conservation expertise. The Heritage Council carries out functions under the Heritage Act 1977 (NSW) and receives advice and administrative support from the Heritage Division, Office of Environment and Heritage.

Current membership


Mr Frank Howarth PSM

Deputy Chair

Ms Sheridan Burke


Mr Ian Clarke
Mr David Major
Ms Colleen Morris
Ms Louise Thurgood
Ms Jennifer Davis
Professor Gary Sturgess AM

Ex-officio Members

Mr Gary White, for Ms Carolyn McNally, Secretary, Department of Planning and Environment


Mr Dillon Kombumerri for Government Architects Office

Page last updated: 05 February 2019