20th Green Globe winners making a resilient NSW

An outstanding range of innovative projects from across NSW have been showcased in the 2019 winning line-up for the 20th annual Green Globe Awards.

Community Leadership Award, Green Connect

NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment Deputy Secretary, Energy, Climate Change and Sustainability, James Hay said the diverse projects are helping ensure NSW achieves the most sustainable, thriving and resilient future.

"I'm inspired by the ground-breaking projects and the devoted people and organisations across our state who are committed to moving us towards a brighter future for our planet for current and future generations, Mr Hay said.

"Illawarra-based Green Connect scooped up both the Community Leadership Award and the prestigious Premier's Award for Environmental Excellence for supporting people by building their capacity to find work through environmental initiatives," he said.

"As a social enterprise, Green Connect employs young people and refugees to work in their local community on projects that produce strong economic, and social benefits for more healthy, inclusive and sustainable communities." Mr Hay said.

"This award is a wonderful recognition of the use of business to bring about incredible social and environmental good. We hope our work will inspire others because everyone can do something," said Green Connect General Manager, Kylie Flament.

Team UoW led by the University of Wollongong received the Regional Sustainability and Built Environment Awards for Desert Rose House, a collaboration with TAFE NSW and multiple industry partners, is a world-leading example of sustainable, human-centred residential design using state-of-the-art technologies.

"Desert Rose House is a successful blend of environmental and social innovation in the built environment. This has the potential to be scaled up to improve lives across Australia and around the globe." Mr Hay said.

Lifetime Achievement Awards were introduced for Individuals and for Organisations to mark the 20th Awards. The Individual award went to Bruce Precious for pioneering sustainability in NSW commercial buildings and the Award for Organisations went to Tweed Shire Council for continuing to lead on improving wildlife habitats and climate change adaptation.

12-year-old Shalise Leesfield is 2019's Young Sustainability Champion, leading her very own national marine protection campaign reducing plastic litter in local waterways and offering practical environmental solutions.

"This award shows that even though you are only a small citizen in a big world you can still have a huge impact on the planet and inspire people." said Miss Leesfield.

An independent panel of sustainability experts selected this year's 15 winners who were presented last night at an event at the Taronga Centre.

Hosted on behalf of NSW Environment Minister, Matt Kean by Parliamentary Secretary for the Environment and Veterans, James Griffin. The Master of Ceremonies was sustainability champion and award-winning journalist Indira Naidoo.

For further details about all the winners, the projects and their locations please visit: Green Globe Awards

2019 Green Globe Awards winners

Award category Winner's name Project Location
Premier’s Award for Environmental Excellence and Community Leadership Award Green Connect More Jobs, Less Waste, Fair Food Wollongong
Regional Sustainability Award and Built Environment Award University of Wollongong Team UOW - Desert Rose – A House for Life Wollongong
Business Leadership Award Sprout Stack Environmentally Righteous Produce Manly
Climate Change Leadership Award Sydney Metro A Resilient Revolution in Transport Sydney
Community Leadership Award Green Connect More Jobs, Less Waste, Fair Food Wollongong
Innovation Award Downer Reconophalt  Parramatta
Lifetime Achievement Award for Individuals Bruce Precious   Epping
Lifetime Achievement Award for Organisations Tweed Shire Council   Lismore
Natural Environment Award Fujitsu Australia Digital Owl - Detecting endangered species with technology Lane Cove


Public Sector Leadership Award (joint-winners)
Sydney Opera House   Sydney
Waverley, Woollahra and Randwick Councils Solar my School Program Coogee
Resource Efficiency Award Secret Sounds Splendour in the Grass Tweed
Sustainability Champion Award Clare Press   Newtown
Young Sustainability Champion Award Shalise Leesfield Shalise's Ocean Support Port Macquarie