Malcolm Turnbull AC to chair Net Zero Emissions and Clean Economy Board

New South Wales is set to lead the nation in its plans to grow the economy and create jobs while reducing emissions, with the launch of the Net Zero Emissions and Clean Economy Board to be chaired by former Prime Minister Malcom Turnbull AC.

520kW of solar on the International Convention Centre in Darling Harbour, Sydney

Energy Minister Matt Kean said the Board, which will be established by regulation, will provide strategic and expert advice on program design and funding proposals under the State's inaugural $1 billion Net Zero Plan Stage 1: 2020-2030.

"The Board will help us to drive a clean industrial revolution for NSW – providing advice on opportunities to grow the economy, create jobs of the future, support industry to develop low emissions technologies and modernise industrial processes," Mr Kean said.

"The Board will bring cross-sector experts together to ensure we have the right policies and initiatives to give industry the confidence they need to invest, innovate and build a low-carbon future – right here in New South Wales.

"The Board is also going to be key in delivering low-carbon jobs in the Hunter and Illawarra, to help those economies diversify."

The Board will be chaired by former Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull AC, with NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte as the Deputy Chair.

"It is a privilege to have Mr Turnbull leading the Board. As a former Prime Minister, Commonwealth Environment Minister and head of Goldman Sachs Australia, Mr Turnbull is ideally placed to help NSW reduce its emissions in ways that grow the economy," Mr Kean said.

Mr Turnbull said "the world's move to net zero emissions by 2050 will create huge economic opportunities for Australia and I intend to make sure NSW realises them."

The remainder of the Board will be made up of representatives from the electricity, powerfuels, transport, manufacturing and primary industries sectors as well as climate science, technology and innovation, public policy and finance representatives.