About us

World Heritage-listed Areas

The globally recognised World Heritage List contains some of the most important examples of natural and cultural heritage in the world. Protected by international convention, they are part of a group of more than 800 treasures that include the Great Barrier Reef, Mount Everest, the pyramids of Egypt and the Great Wall of China.

Minyon Falls, Nightcap National Park

There are 6 World Heritage sites in New South Wales, indicated by colour on the map, 5 of which include parks and reserves managed by the National Parks and Wildlife Service:

The sixth World Heritage site in NSW is the Sydney Opera House, which is managed by the Sydney Opera House Trust.

For more information and to see the full list of World Heritage Listed Areas visit the UNESCO World Heritage Centre website.

World Heritage-listed parks and reserves in NSW

Enter a NSW town to find nearby World Heritage parks:

World Heritage parks in NSW

Australian Convict Sites

Gondwana Rainforests of Australia Show list

Greater Blue Mountains Show list

Lord Howe Island Group

Willandra Lakes Region

More information

Was this page helpful?

Thank you for your feedback.

Would you like to tell us more?

Share this

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Page last updated: 13 October 2017