Nature conservation

Threatened species

Myall Woodland in the Darling Riverine Plains, Brigalow Belt South, Cobar Peneplain, Murray-Darling Depression, Riverina and NSW South Western Slopes bioregions - profile

Indicative distribution

   Loading map...
The areas shown in pink and/purple are the sub-regions where the species or community is known or predicted to occur. They may not occur thoughout the sub-region but may be restricted to certain areas. ( click here to see geographic restrictions). The information presented in this map is only indicative and may contain errors and omissions.
Scientific name: Myall Woodland in the Darling Riverine Plains, Brigalow Belt South, Cobar Peneplain, Murray-Darling Depression, Riverina and NSW South Western Slopes bioregions
Conservation status in NSW: Endangered Ecological Community
Commonwealth status: Not listed
Gazetted date: 15 Jul 2005
Profile last updated: 23 Mar 2022


This ecological community is scattered across the eastern parts of the alluvial plains of the Murray-Darling river system. The community is also known as Boree particularly in the southern part of its distribution. Typically, it occurs on red-brown earths and heavy textured grey and brown alluvial soils within a climatic belt receiving between 375 and 500 mm mean annual rainfall. The structure of the community varies from low woodland and low open woodland to low sparse woodland or open shrubland, depending on site quality and disturbance history. The tree layer grows up to a height of about 10 metres and invariably includes Acacia pendula (Weeping Myall or Boree) as one of the dominant species or the only tree species present. The understorey includes an open layer of chenopod shrubs and other woody plant species and an open to continuous groundcover of grasses and herbs. The structure and composition of the community varies, particularly with latitude, as chenopod shrubs are more prominent south of the Lachlan River district, while other woody species and summer grasses are more common further north. In some areas the shrub and canopy stratum may have been reduced or eliminated by clearing or heavy grazing, leaving derived grassland that may still constitute this community.

For a detailed description and list of characteristic species see the Scientific Committee's listing (link in left-hand box).


This EEC is known from parts of the Local Government Areas of Berrigan, Bland, Bogan, Carrathool, Conargo, Coolamon, Coonamble, Corowa, Forbes, Gilgandra, Griffith, Gwydir, Inverell, Jerilderee, Lachlan, Leeton, Lockhart, Moree Plains, Murray, Murrumbidgee, Narrabri, Narranderra, Narromine, Parkes, Urana, Wagga Wagga and Warren, and but may occur elsewhere in these bioregions.

Regional distribution and habitat

Click on a region below to view detailed distribution, habitat and vegetation information.


Recovery strategies

Activities to assist this species

IBRA Bioregion IBRA Subregion Known or predicted Geographic restrictions region
Brigalow Belt SouthLiverpool Plains Known None
Brigalow Belt SouthNorthern Basalts Known None
Brigalow Belt SouthNorthern Outwash Known None
Brigalow Belt SouthPilliga Known None
Brigalow Belt SouthPilliga Outwash Known None
Cobar PeneplainCanbelego Downs Known None
Cobar PeneplainLachlan Plains Known None
Cobar PeneplainNymagee Known None
Darling Riverine PlainsBogan-Macquarie Known None
Darling Riverine PlainsCastlereagh-Barwon Known None
Murray Darling DepressionDarling Depression Known None
NSW South Western SlopesLower Slopes Known None
RiverinaLachlan Known None
RiverinaMurray Fans Known None
RiverinaMurrumbidgee Known None