Mayfield air quality monitoring station

The Mayfield air quality monitoring site is located next to the CSIRO Energy Centre premises on Murray Dwyer Circuit in Mayfield West. This station is one of the three Newcastle Local Air Quality Monitoring Network (NLAQMN) stations commissioned in August 2014. This monitoring site is not designated as an Ambient Air Quality National Environment Protection Measure (NEPM) compliance monitoring station.

Air quality monitoring region: Lower Hunter

Commissioned: August 2014

Latitude: 32° 53' 06"S

Longitude: 151° 43' 42"E

Elevation: 5 metres

The data from Mayfield will not be included in NSW DPE reports published to comply with statutory NEPM reporting requirements, however data can found in the Newcastle local map.

The following air pollutants and meteorological variables are currently measured at Mayfield:

  • Oxides of nitrogen (NO, NO2 and NOx)
  • Sulfur dioxide (SO2)
  • Fine particles as PM10
  • Fine particles as PM2.5
  • Wind speed, wind direction and sigma theta
  • Ambient temperature
  • Relative humidity
  • Solar radiation