Members of the Heritage Council

The Heritage Council's membership reflects a cross-section of community, government and conservation expertise.

The Heritage Council carries out functions under the Heritage Act 1977 (NSW) and receives advice and administrative support from the Heritage Division, Department of Premier and Cabinet. The Heritage Council is created by the Heritage Act 1977.

Current membership


Mr Frank Howarth PSM

Deputy Chair

Ms Sheridan Burke


Mr Ian Clarke
Ms Colleen Morris
Ms Louise Thurgood
Dr Nicholas Brunton
Dr Brian Lindsay
Mr Paul Knight

Ex-officio members

Mr Brett Whitworth, for Mr Jim Betts, Secretary, Department of Planning, Industry and Environment


Mr Dillon Kombumerri, for Office of the Government Architect