Coastal Management Program report card

The Coastal Management Program sets the long term strategy for coordinated management of the coast.

A tick in the table below indicates a stage is underway or has been completed.

Council CMP Location Stage 1 Stage 2 Stage 3 Stage 4 (Draft) Certified CMP
Ballina Lake Ainsworth
Ballina North Creek (Richmond River)
Ballina, (with Richmond Valley, Lismore, Kyogle, Byron, Rous County) Richmond River Estuary
Bega Bega Coastline
Bega Bermagui River
Bega Curalo Lake
Bega Merimbula and Back Lake
Bega Wallaga Lake
Bellingen Shire Bellingen Shire (includes estuaries)
Byron Shire North Byron Shire Coastline (Cape Byron to South Golden Beach)
Byron Shire Southern Byron Shire Coastline (Cape Byron to Seven Mile Beach), Tallow and Belongil Creek Catchments
Central Coast Central Coast Open Coast and Coastal Lagoons
Central Coast Tuggerah Lake
City of Newcastle Newcastle CMP
(Whole LGA Open Coast including lower Hunter Estuary and incorporating Stockton)
City of Newcastle Stockton Beach CMP
City of Newcastle
Port Stephens Council
Maitland City Council
Hunter River Estuary CMP
Clarence Valley Council Wooli Coast (excluding Clarence River)
Coffs Harbour Bonville and Pine Creek
Coffs Harbour
Coffs Harbour Arrawarra, Corindi and Pipe Clay (CMP)
Coffs Harbour Willis, Woolgoolga, Darkum and Hearnes Lake (Scoping Study)
Cooks River Alliance Cooks River Catchment
Eurobodalla Eurobodalla Coastline
Eurobodalla Moruya, Mummuga and Wagonga River
Georges River Estuary Georges River
Greater Sydney Harbour councils Greater Sydney Harbour catchment and coast
Hornsby council and others Hawkesbury-Nepean River System
Kempsey Shire Macleay River (including Korogoro and Killick Creeks)
Kempsey Shire Saltwater Creek lagoon
Kempsey Shire Kempsey
Kiama Kiama Beaches
Lake Macquarie City Council Lake Macquarie (Estuary and Open Coast)
MidCoast Old Bar/Manning Point CMP
MidCoast MidCoast Open Coast CMP
MidCoast MidCoast Coastal Lakes CMP
MidCoast Manning River Estuary
Nambucca Shire Nambucca (includes estuaries)
Northern Beaches Northern (Sydney) beaches – open coast and lagoons (North Head to Palm Beach)
Port Macquarie Hastings Council Port Macquarie Hastings open coast include estuaries
Port Stephens Port Stephens CMP (Estuary and Open Coast)
Shellharbour and Wollongong Lake Illawarra
Shoalhaven Lake Conjola
Sutherland Shire Bate Bay
Tweed Shire Tweed Coast (includes coastal estuaries)
Tweed Shire Tweed River Estuary
Woollahra Municipal
Randwick City
Eastern (Sydney) Beaches (South Head to Terminal 1 Port Botany)

Coastal Zone Management Plans (CZMPs) certified under the former Coastal Protection Act (cease to have effect on 31 December 2021).