About us

About us

OEH organisation and services

There are 6 main divisions and 4 trust entities within the Office of Environment and Heritage (OEH) portfolio.

The 6 main divisions are:

  • National Parks and Wildlife Service (Park Operations and Park Programs)
  • Regional Operations (Communities and Greater Sydney; Conservation and Regional Delivery)
  • Heritage
  • Policy
  • Science
  • Strategy and Performance

Together, Park Operations and Park Programs form the NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service and manage the national parks system in NSW.

The 4 trust entities within the OEH portfolio are:

  • Taronga Zoo (including the Western Plains Zoo)
  • Western Sydney and Parramatta Park
  • Botanic Gardens and Centennial Parklands
  • Biodiversity Conservation Trust

Download the OEH organisation chart (PDF 251KB).

National Parks and Wildlife Service

Manages, conserves and cares for more than 7 million hectares of land in national parks and reserves. NPWS links customer, conservation and cultural outcomes in a sustainable way by building participation in the management and use of parks.

Regional Operations  (Communities and Greater Sydney; Conservation and Regional Delivery)

Delivers integrated and customer focused services at the regional and local level to strengthen communities and partnerships across NSW. This includes services, programs and grants to support land use planning, threatened species, native vegetation, education, community engagement, energy efficiency, volunteering, environmental water management, coast and flood protection, compliance and enforcement, adapting to a changing climate and private land conservation.


Provides an integrated approach to conserving Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal heritage, works with the community to list items on the State Heritage Register, declare Aboriginal Places and register state shipwrecks. It assesses applications to change listed items, repatriates Aboriginal ancestral remains, administers grants for heritage conservation and provides secretariat services to the Heritage Council and the Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee.


Supports the Minister and OEH Executive by providing policy advice and leading the development of strategic policy. The Division leads OEH’s engagement in whole-of-government policy formation, Cabinet processes, legislative reforms and intergovernmental affairs.


Provides scientific evidence and knowledge to underpin environmental decision making, regulation and service delivery.

Strategy and Performance

Strategy and Performance division leads the development and implementation of strategic planning, corporate reporting and all aspects of program development, implementation and monitoring across a portfolio of complex programs and projects.

It also oversees the strategic corporate communications function, provision of Ministerial support and services and delivery of strategic advice to the Chief Executive.

Executive Team

  • Chief Executive - Anthony Lean
  • Executive Director Park Operations - Naomi Stephens
  • Executive Director Park Programs - Robert Quirk
  • Executive Director Communities and Greater Sydney - Dr Kate Wilson
  • Executive Director Conservation and Regional Delivery - Derek Rutherford
  • Executive Director Heritage - Pauline McKenzie
  • Executive Director Policy - Michelle Dumazel
  • Executive Director Science - Georgina Kelly
  • Executive Director Strategy and Performance - Andrew Nicholls
Page last updated: 29 November 2018