Great Koala National Park

The NSW Government has committed to creating a Great Koala National Park on the mid north coast. The 2023–24 State Budget committed $80 million in funding over 4 years to support the development of the park.

Koala (Phascolarctos cinereus)The process of establishing the park will involve 3 key components:

  1. An independent economic and social assessment to consider the impacts on local jobs and communities
  2. The establishment of industry, community and Aboriginal advisory panels to provide input to the assessment process and creation of the park
  3. Expert environmental and cultural heritage assessments to safeguard the region’s unique environmental and cultural heritage and ensure the Great Koala National Park aligns with the highest standards of environmental protection and respect for cultural heritage.

The area of state forest to be assessed for declaration as a Great Koala National Park is up to approximately 176,000 hectares, noting as maps are being refined there could be fluctuations on that figure. Areas of the existing national park estate will also be included in the park.

The final footprint of the Great Koala National Park will be determined as part of a comprehensive assessment and engagement process outlined above.

If you have information relevant to the assessment process you can email Please note emails will be considered but may not be responded to.

While the assessment work is underway, the NSW Government has implemented a halt to timber harvesting operations within designated koala hubs located in the Great Koala National Park assessment area. Koala hubs are areas with strong evidence of multi-generational, high density koala populations.

Great Koala National Park advisory panels

Three advisory panels have been established to provide input to the assessment process and creation of the park.

The advisory panels, which represent the views of the community, Aboriginal groups and industry, will give feedback on the process of assessing land for inclusion in the national park. They will also provide information on economic, social, ecological and cultural matters.

The panels have been established and will meet regularly throughout the assessment process.

The following groups have been invited to the Aboriginal Advisory Panel:

  • Armidale Local Aboriginal Land Council
  • Bowraville Local Aboriginal Land Council
  • Bularri Muurlay Nyanggan Aboriginal Corporation
  • Coffs Harbour & District Local Aboriginal Land Council
  • Dorodong Association Inc
  • Dorrigo Plateau Local Aboriginal Land Council
  • Dungutti Elders Council (Aboriginal Corporation) Registered Native Title Bodies Corporate
  • Gaagal Wanggaan (South Beach) National Park Board of Management
  • Garby Elders Corporation
  • Garlambirla Guuyu-girrwaa Elders Aboriginal Corporation
  • Grafton Ngerrie Local Aboriginal Land Council
  • Gumbaynggirr Wenonah Headland Aboriginal Corporation Registered Native Title Bodies Corporate
  • Gurehlgam Corporation
  • Jagun Aged Care
  • Kempsey Local Aboriginal Land Council
  • Muurrbay Aboriginal Language and Culture Co-operative
  • Muurrbay Bundani Aboriginal Corporation
  • Nambucca Heads Local Aboriginal Land Council
  • Ngiyambandigay Wajaarr Aboriginal Corporation
  • NSW Aboriginal Land Council
  • South West Rocks Figtree Descendants Aboriginal Corporation
  • Thunggutti Local Aboriginal Land Council
  • Unkya Local Aboriginal Land Council
  • Wanggaan (Southern) Gumbaynggirr Nation Aboriginal Corporation Registered Native Title Bodies Corporate
  • Yurruungga Aboriginal Corporation

The following groups have been invited to the Community Advisory Panel:

  • Australian Climate and Biodiversity Foundation
  • Bellingen Environment Centre
  • Bellingen Shire Council
  • Clarence Environment Centre
  • Clarence Valley Council
  • Coffs Harbour City Council
  • Destination North Coast NSW
  • Kempsey Shire Council
  • Nambucca Valley Conservation Association
  • Nambucca Valley Council
  • National Parks Association
  • Nature Conservation Council of NSW
  • North Coast Environment Council
  • North East Forest Alliance
  • NSW Aboriginal Tourism Operators Council
  • Outdoors NSW & ACT
  • Regional NSW Tourism Industry Council
  • World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF)

The following groups have been invited to the Industry Advisory Panel:

  • Australia Workers’ Union
  • Australian Forest Contractors Association
  • Australian Forest Products Association
  • Construction, Forestry and Maritime Employees Union (CFMEU) – Manufacturing Division
  • Forestry Australia
  • Jamax Forest Solutions
  • Koppers Wood Products Pty Ltd
  • Marshall Notaras Hardwoods Pty Ltd
  • North East NSW Forestry Hub
  • Public Service Association
  • SA Relf & Sons Pty Ltd / Newell’s Creek Sawmilling Co Pty Ltd
  • The Pentarch Group
  • Timber NSW