The success of the Great Eastern Ranges Initiative (GER) will depend on partners and the voluntary involvement of landholders and the community.

Partners include:

  • national organisations working along the length of the GER corridor
  • state agencies and conservation organisations
  • regional partnerships, made up of local and regional bodies, who collaborate to improve habitat connectivity in ‘priority connectivity landscapes’.

Each collaboration involves the development of local or regional strategies to maintain and improve the conservation management and connectivity of ecosystems and habitats along the GER corridor.

The GER will integrate and complement a wide range of existing land management programs, including voluntary conservation activities. It will encourage partners to conserve lands that extend over local, bioregional, catchment and state boundaries.

Much of the GER corridor is well protected in national parks, particularly in southern NSW and Victoria. However, there are areas that can be reconnected, and conservation on public and private land can be improved through the combined efforts of partners.

Regional partnerships

Within NSW, on-ground voluntary connectivity activities are being implemented in eight areas:

  1. Border Ranges
  2. Coffs Harbour (Jaliigirr Biodiversity Alliance)
  3. Hunter Valley
  4. Kanangra-Boyd to Wyangala Link
  5. Southern Highlands
  6. Illawarra-Shoalhaven
  7. Kosciuszko to Coast
  8. Slopes to Summit

In each regional partnership, the position of facilitator is jointly funded by an established conservation organisation and the GER Initiative. The conservation organisations are:

  • Greening Australia (NSW)
  • National Parks Association of NSW
  • Nature Conservation Trust
  • NSW Office of Environment and Heritage
  • OzGreen

The process of forging links and building relationships with a range of different organisations, and landholders, in each region is one that will take time.

At 1 January 2014, the GER also involves regional partnerships in Victoria (Central Victoria Biolinks) and Queensland (Sunshine Coast Hinterland Bush Links).

Page last updated: 29 January 2014