Climate Change Leadership Award

This award recognises exceptional work and/or leadership in the field of climate change mitigation and adaptation in NSW.

This may include, but is not limited to:

  • reducing greenhouse gas emissions
  • managing climate change risks
  • empowering community, business and/or environment to adapt to the impacts of climate change
  • leading the emerging low-carbon economy
  • initiatives to influence policies, practices and attitudes.

Open to businesses, individuals, NSW public sector, NSW local councils, community organisations, partnerships between business, non-government organisations (NGOs), government and community groups, research groups, academics and recipients of funding from the NSW Environmental Trust and other bodies.

Meet your winners

This year the judges awarded the Climate Change Leadership Award to two winners.

Charles Sturt University

Winner: Charles Sturt University

Charles Sturt University (CSU) is Australia's largest regional university and is also the first in Australia to officially achieve certified carbon neutrality status. This has been reached through a combination of carbon reduction programs and offsetting projects. CSU also has a structure and vision to integrate sustainability principles across its curriculum, research, and operating practices and with its internal and external community.

Judges' comment: 'Charles Sturt University has demonstrated an outstanding holistic approach to engaging staff, students and the community and being a sector leader in demonstrating carbon neutrality.'

Teachers Mutual Bank: Banking on Climate Change

Winner: Teachers Mutual Bank

Established in 1966, Teachers Mutual Bank is one of Australia's leading member-owned banks. Climate change leadership has been central to its ethical practices, investments and operations. It has shown demonstrated innovation in the creation of sustainable financial products. The bank is carbon neutral and doesn't lend to, buy equity or debt in any large-scale greenhouse polluting activities from fossil fuel exploration, extraction, production and use.

Winners' comment: 'This award is a further validation of our commitment to ensuring sustainability is embedded across the business, and recognises us as a leader in climate change awareness, which is something our members and staff truly value.' Steve James, Chief Executive, Teachers Mutual Bank

Meet your finalists

Climate Council of Australia

Finalist: Climate Council of Australia

The Climate Council was created as a result of Australia's largest ever crowd-funding campaign. The Climate Council provides authoritative, expert advice to the Australian public on climate change. Its mission is twofold: to conduct climate research based on the best science available and to raise awareness of these issues though effective communication. The Climate Council has shifted the public narrative on climate change, particularly on the three theme areas of extreme weather, renewable energy and international action. It has carved out a niche as a climate change communications organisation offering accurate and relevant information to the public.

Fujitsu Australia: Fujitsu-NABERS Leadership

Finalist: Fujitsu Australia

Fujitsu Australia is a major service provider of business information and communications technology. They collaborated with NABERS, the national environmental rating system for buildings, to develop the NABERS Energy for Data Centre benchmarking tools. These tools have provided a platform for data centre energy efficiency to be validated against an independent standard and Fujitsu's data centre portfolio is the first in Australia to be fully certified. Fujitsu has helped raise the industry standard for data centre transparency and energy efficiency and has provided support to its customers to rate their own data centres and replicate Fujitsu's practices.

Page last updated: 07 February 2017