The park extends to the north, east and west of the town of Tibooburra (population fluctuating between 85 and about 150 people) and is bordered by Queensland to the north and South Australia to the west.
The park was named after Charles Sturt, the first non-Aboriginal person to explore this region.
Sturt totals 325,329 hectares. The park also includes land known as the Warratta Paddock, which is vested in the Minister under Part 11 of the National Parks and Wildlife Act 1974 and managed as part of the park. This land comprises 10,724 hectares.
Two Crown reserves associated with Charles Sturt’s exploration, which are managed by the National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS) in association with the park, are also addressed in this plan. Sturt`s Cairn reserve is 129.5 hectares and Poole`s Grave reserve is 0.4 hectares. The first section of the park was reserved in 1972. It has been progressively added to since.
Sturt was formed from six former Western Lands leases (or parts thereof) issued under the Western Lands Act 1901 in the Western Division of New South Wales. These were Fort Grey, Binerah Downs, Olive Downs, Mount King, Whitta Brinnah and Mount Wood, and were acquired progressively since 1968. Although Whitta Brinnah has been managed as park since the initial reservation, it was not reserved until the expiry of mineral and mining interests in 2003.
See also: Existing adopted Sturt National Park Plan of Management (1996)