Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse Precinct Conservation Management Plan

The Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse on Seal Rocks in Myall Lakes National Park was built in 1875. It is one of 10 historic lighthouses under the management of the NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service.

1 July 2004
NPWS National Parks and Wildlife Service
Publication, Conservation management plan
  • ISBN 0-73136-8339
  • ID NPWS20000168
  • File PDF 4.5MB
  • Pages 41
  • Name sugarloaf-point-lighthouse-myall-lakes-conservation-management-plan-000168.pdf

The Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse Precinct consists of a group of white-painted masonry buildings located on the southern slopes of the headland. The precinct includes the 15-metre-high lighthouse tower, the head keeper's quarters, assistant keeper's cottages and other ancillary buildings and elements.

The Sugarloaf Point Lightstation is an outstanding and relatively intact example of its kind located in an unspoilt natural setting. It is unusal in New South Wales for its external stair. The lightstation forms part of a cohensive group of late 19th and early 20th century lighthouses in New South Wales which demonstrate incremental changes in lighthouse design and construction.

This conservation management plan (CMP) is a supplementary report to the NPWS Lighhouses Conservation Management and Cultural Tourism Plan (1999) and aims to provide site-specific building assessments and analysis to assist management of the precincts built and landscape heritage values. The CMP also includes policies to assist management of the precinct's Aboriginal heritage values.

This document is a supplementary report to the NPWS Lighthouses Conservation Management and Cultural Tourism Plan.

Additional document to download:
Addendum to Conservation Management Plan (PDF 2.5MB)