NSW Coastal Council

The NSW Coastal Council's role is to provide independent and expert advice on coastal issues to the Minister administering the Coastal Management Act 2016.

Providing advice

The NSW Coastal Council may provide advice to the Minister about matters relating to the Minister's functions under the Coastal Management Act 2016 (CM Act). The Minister may also request that the NSW Coastal Council provides advice about coastal issues to other public authorities.

The NSW Coastal Council may seek independent expert advice on technical, scientific, legal or policy matters.

Improving implementation

The Minister may request the NSW Coastal Council to conduct a performance audit of a local council's implementation of its coastal management program (CMP). These audits will enable the NSW Government to determine whether CMPs are being effectively implemented.

Composition of the NSW Coastal Council

The NSW Coastal Council is appointed under section 24 of the Coastal Management Act 2016.

The people appointed to the NSW Coastal Council have outstanding expertise and experience in one or more specialist fields relating to coastal management.

The members of the NSW Coastal Council are:

  • Emeritus Professor Bruce Thom AM (chairperson),
  • Dr Kate Brooks, (nominated by the Minister administering the Marine Estate Management Act 2014 and a member of the Marine Estate Expert Knowledge Panel)
  • Jane Lofthouse
  • Angus Gordon
  • Annelise Tuor
  • Associate Professor William Glamore
  • Associate Professor Ron Cox

Transitional arrangements

The NSW Coastal Council replaces the NSW Coastal Panel and the Coastal Expert Panel.

A Transitional Coastal Panel will operate for 12 months after the commencement of the CM Act to finalise assessment of development applications.

More information on the transitional details are provided on the transitional arrangement page.