South Western Slopes bioregion

The South Western Slopes bioregion has some of the most highly cleared and altered lands in New South Wales.

Map of NSW showing location of the South Western Slopes bioregion

South Western Slopes bioregion area

  • 8,681,126 hectares in total
  • 8,114,379 hectares in NSW

The NSW South Western Slopes Bioregion is an extensive area of foothills and isolated ranges comprising the lower inland slopes of the Great Dividing Range extending from north of Cowra through southern NSW into western Victoria.

The bioregion extends from Albury in the south to Dunedoo in the northeast.

The climate is mainly sub-humid with hot summers and no dry season. A temperate climate occurs at higher elevations along the eastern boundary of the bioregion. Rainfall varies from 1200mm in the east to 400mm in the west.

BirdLife International has identified a large area as an Important Bird Area as it supports wintering populations of the endangered swift parrot and most of the largest population of superb parrots. There are several other threatened species of animals and plants in this bioregion.

There are many national parks and nature reserves, and two historic sites. Conservation agreements are place with several landholders via stewardship agreements.

The bioregion includes parts of the Murray, Murrumbidgee, Lachlan and Macquarie River catchments.

Read the South Western Slopes bioregion chapter of 'Bioregions of New South Wales' (2003) (PDF 4.8MB) for more information.