Kangaroo management advisory panel

The Kangaroo Management Advisory Panel provides advice on important matters relating to the NSW Commercial Kangaroo Harvest Management Plan.

Kangaroo management in New South Wales is determined by the NSW Commercial Kangaroo Harvest Management Plan. The Department of Planning and Environment is responsible for the management of kangaroos in accordance with the plan, including licensing all facets of commercial kangaroo harvesting and non-commercial kangaroo culling.

The Kangaroo Management Advisory Panel is appointed to provide guidance on the plan's management activities to ensure kangaroo populations in New South Wales remain ecologically sustainable and that the methods of harvesting kangaroos for commercial use are humane. The panel is selected for a 5-year term. At the end of each term, the Coordinator-General of the department's Environment, Energy and Science Group invites interested organisations to nominate for the next Kangaroo Management Advisory Panel.

Organisations are selected to represent key stakeholder groups as required by the management plan. Each organisation is asked to nominate one primary and one alternate representative for the panel. Usually, only one of the representatives attends each meeting. Meetings are usually held twice a year, in October/November and February/March.

Meeting minutes

Minutes of meetings are available once ratified by the panel. Minutes are ratified, or formally approved, at each biannual meeting. The minutes available are those most recently ratified.

Representing Affiliation/profession Name
Industry Kangaroo Industry Association Australia Doug Jobson
Animal welfare Australian Veterinary Association Dr Tanya Stephens
Animal welfare RSPCA NSW Dr Liz Arnott
Aboriginal communities Nari Nari man, Hay Jamie Woods
Aboriginal communities Gomeroi man, Walgett Garry Trindall
Scientific community Wildlife ecologist Dr Thomas Newsome
Scientific community Wildlife ecologist Dr Stephen McLeod
Landholders NSW Farmers Association Gerard Glover
Landholders NSW Farmers Association Greg Rogers
Professional harvesters Kangaroo harvester James Meyers
Professional harvesters Kangaroo harvester Steven Johnstone
Primary industries Department of Regional NSW Dr Erlina St Vincent


Kangaroo Management Advisory Panel Code of Conduct

The Code of Conduct provides an easy to understand summary of these responsibilities and sets out the standards of behaviour expected.



Kangaroo Management Advisory Panel Terms of Reference

The Kangaroo Management Advisory Panel is a non-statutory, stakeholder-based panel, established to provide advice to the department on the commercial kangaroo management program.