Broken Head Nature Reserve Draft Plan of Management

Public exhibition for this document closed on 25 February 2013. Public consultation for this document has ended.

Broken Head Nature Reserve is situated 7 kilometres south of the township of Byron Bay on the far north coast of New South Wales. The reserve totals 110 hectares and incorporates an Aboriginal Place on near-shore islands known as the Three Sisters or Cocked Hat Rock.

1 November 2012
Office of Environment and Heritage
Publication, Plan of management, Draft - closed for comment
  • ISBN 978-1-74293-919-3
  • ID OEH20120911
  • File PDF 5.7MB
  • Pages 59
  • Name broken-head-nature-reserve-draft-plan-of-management-120911.pdf

This plan talks about a special part of the Country of the Bundjalung of Byron Bay (Arakwal) people (hereafter called the Arakwal) known as Broken Head Nature Reserve which is situated on the coast seven kilometres south of the township of Byron Bay.

The reserve is an important part of Country to the Arakwal as a place of spiritual and cultural significance. It is a place where their ancestors lived, used the rich resources of the rainforest and passed this information on to their descendents.

In 2008 the second Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA 2) between the Arakwal and the NSW Government was registered as part of resolving a native title claim. ILUA 2 resulted in significant additions to parks and reserves in the NPWS Byron Coast Area, including the addition of the day use area at Broken Head and the dune system on Broken Head Beach to the reserve.

A Management Committee has been established in accordance with ILUA 2 to enable joint management of the reserve by the Arakwal and the NPWS. Joint management provides a continuing role for the Arakwal in looking after Country.

See also: existing adopted The Byron Coast Group of Reserves Plan of Management (1998).