Greater Blue Mountains Area

The Greater Blue Mountains Area is one of the largest and most intact tracts of protected bushland in Australia.

Blue haze over Grose Valley, Blue Mountains national Park, view from Govett's Leap lookout, BlackheathThe World Heritage listed Greater Blue Mountains Area is a deeply incised sandstone tableland covering over 1 million hectares spread across 8 adjacent conservation reserves. The landscapes of this World Heritage property lie inland to the west of Sydney and extend almost 250 kilometres from the edge of the Hunter Valley to the Southern Highlands near Mittagong.

An enormous variety of plants occur here, but eucalypts dominate the landscape: the area is home to 96 species (13% of all eucalypt species). Rare and endangered plants such as the Wollemi pine (Wollemia nobilis) also occur here.

World Heritage listing

The Greater Blue Mountains Area was inscribed on the World Heritage List in 2000 in recognition of its significant natural values. It possesses unique plants and animals that relate an extraordinary story of the evolution of Australia’s distinctive eucalypt vegetation and its associated communities.

The Vegetation, Fire and Climate Change in the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area booklet outlines a mapping study on plant communities, fire regimes and the impacts of climate changes on plant diversity in this area.

Yarning about Country

The Greater Blue Mountains Area World Heritage property spans the traditional Country of the Darkinjung, Dharawal, Dharug, Gundungurra, Wiradjuri and Wonnarua Aboriginal peoples.

The Yarning about Country film portrays representatives of these 6 Aboriginal language groups who introduce some of the amazing culture, people and places of the Greater Blue Mountains Area.

A film by Craig Bender and Vera Hong, Backbone Productions.

Management committees

Representatives of New South Wales and Australian Government agencies participate in an intergovernmental management committee. This committee maintains communication between relevant agencies and governments and determines policy directions for this World Heritage property.

Advisory committee

The Greater Blue Mountains Area World Heritage Advisory Committee advises on matters relating to the protection, conservation, presentation and management of the Greater Blue Mountains Area, helping to fulfil Australia’s obligations under the World Heritage Convention.

The NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service manages the 8 reserves that make up the Greater Blue Mountains Area:

Blue Mountains National Park Nattai National Park
Gardens of Stone National Park Thirlmere Lakes National Park
Jenolan Karst Conservation Reserve Wollemi National Park
Kanangra–Boyd National Park Yengo National Park