Bega dry grass forest in the South East Corner Bioregion - endangered ecological community listing


This Determination has been superseded by the Determination relating to the Lowlands Grassy Woodland

The Determination has been superseded as this community is included in the Lowlands Grassy Woodland in the South East Corner Bioregion

NSW Scientific Committee - final determination


The Scientific Committee, established by the Threatened Species Conservation Act, has made a Final Determination to list theBega Dry Grass Forest in the South East Corner Bioregion as an ENDANGERED ECOLOGICAL COMMUNITY on Part 3 of Schedule 1 of the Act. The listing of Endangered Ecological Communities is provided for by Part 2 of the Act.

The Scientific Committee has found that:

1.Bega Dry Grass Forest is the name given to a forest community described in Keith, D. & Bedward, M. (1999).

2.Bega Dry Grass Forest is characterised by an upperstorey dominated by Eucalyptus tereticornis, with frequent Eucalyptus globoidea and Angophora floribunda. The stands are largely regrowth of originally taller forests. The understory consists of an open small trees stratum dominated by Acacia mearnsii and an open shrub stratum including Bursaria spinosa and Ozothamnus diosmifolius. The grassy ground cover is dominated by Themeda australis, Echinopogon caespitosus, Microlaena stipoides and Eragrostis leptostachya with forbs such as Dichondra repens, Desmodium varians, Hydrocotyle laxiflora, Hypericum gramineum, Glycine clandestina and the fern Cheilanthes sieberi.

3. The plant species assemblage for the community includes:

  • Acacia mearnsii
  • Angophora floribunda
  • Austrostipa densiflora
  • Bursaria spinosa
  • Cheilanthes sieberi subsp. sieberi
  • Desmodium varians
  • Dichondra repens
  • Echinopogon caespitosus
  • Echinopogon ovatus
  • Eragrostis leptostachya
  • Eucalyptus agglomerata
  • Eucalyptus angophoroides
  • Eucalyptus baueriana
  • Eucalyptus bosistoana
  • Eucalyptus botryoides
  • Eucalyptus dives
  • Eucalyptus elata
  • Eucalyptus globoidea
  • Eucalyptus maidenii
  • Eucalyptus melliodora
  • Eucalyptus pauciflora
  • Eucalyptus polyanthemos var. vestita
  • Eucalyptus radiata
  • Eucalyptus sieberi
  • Eucalyptus tereticornis
  • Eucalyptus viminalis
  • Glycine clandestina
  • Glycine sp. aff tomentella
  • Hydrocotyle laxiflora
  • Hypericum gramineum
  • Laxmannia gracilis
  • Lomandra longifolia
  • Microlaena stipoides var. stipoides
  • Ozothamnus diosmifolius
  • Poa meionectes
  • Polygala japonica
  • Pteridium esculentum
  • Themeda australis
  • Vittadinia dissecta var. dissecta

4. The total species list of the community may be larger than that given above with many species present in only one or two sites or in very small quantity. In any particular site not all of the assemblage listed may be present. At any one time, seeds of some species may only be present in the soil seed bank with no above-ground individuals present. The species composition of the site will be influenced by the size of the site and by its recent disturbance history. The number of species and the above-ground composition of species will change with time since fire, and may also change in response to changes in fire frequency.

5.Bega Dry Grass Forest is distinguished from other assemblages in the south-east forests by the dominance of Eucalyptus tereticornis usually with Angophora floribunda, the open shrub stratum of Bursaria spinosa and Ozothamnus diosmifolius and a grassy ground cover dominated by Themeda australis with Echinopogon caespitosus, Microlaena stipoides and Eragrostis leptostachya and a diversity of forbs.

6.Bega Dry Grass Forest occurs in the Cobargo - Bega - Candelo area, the Towamba Valley and near Tanja. These areas are within the Bega Valley Local Government Area.

7. Nearly 90% of the estimated original Bega Dry Grass Forest has been cleared for agriculture, and more than 90% of the remaining fragmented area occurs on private land where it is threatened by further clearing, grazing, weed invasion and inappropriate fire regimes.

8. In view of 7 above, the Scientific Committee is of the opinion that the Bega Dry Grass Forest in the South East Corner Bioregion is likely to become extinct in nature in New South Wales unless the circumstances and factors threatening its survival or evolutionary development cease to operate.


Keith, D. and Bedward, M. (1999) Native Vegetation of the South East Forests Region, Eden, NSW. Cunninghamia 6(1) 1-218.

Proposed Gazettal date: 17/11/00

Exhibition period: 17/11/00 - 22/12/00

About the NSW Scientific Committee

Page last updated: 18 May 2016