The Southern Snowy Mountains Aboriginal Community Memorandum of Understanding

This Memorandum of Understanding is made between the National Parks and Wildlife Service, Office of Environment and Heritage and the Southern Snowy Mountains Aboriginal Community.

4 April 2019
Office of Environment and Heritage
Publication, Aboriginal joint management agreement, Memoranda of understanding
  • File PDF 633KB
  • Pages 11
  • Name southern-snowy-mountains-aboriginal-community-memorandum-of-understanding.pdf

The purpose of this Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) is to formally acknowledge the parties' commitment to work in partnership and to recognise the existing strong relationship that exists between the Monaro Ngarigo and Office of Environment and Heritage (OEH).

OEH recognises the diversity of Aboriginal clans and People of the Snowy Mountains, one of those clans being the Monaro Ngarigo. The parties to this agreement also acknowledge that many other clans have associations with the mountains. The mountains recognise the language names given by Aboriginal people and naming of places strengthens the living Aboriginal culture.

This MOU covers that area of Kosciuszko National Park South of Tolbar Road to the Victorian border, including Binjura, Bobundara, Coornartha, Dangelong, Good Good, lronmungy, Kuma, Kybeyan, Meringo, Merriangaah, Mount Clifford, Myalla, Ngandang, Nimmo, Numeralla, Paupong, Quidong, Undoo, Wadjan and Wullwye Nature Reserves, and Macanally State Conservation Areas. 

Date MOU was signed: 26 March 2017