Upper Nepean State Conservation Area Draft Plan of Management

Public exhibition for this document was from 23 June 2017 to 25 September 2017. Public consultation for this document has ended.

Upper Nepean State Conservation Area is located approximately 20 kilometres west of Wollongong, between Wilton in the north, Mittagong in the west and Robertson in the south, in the upper catchment of the Nepean River. It is currently 25,134 hectares.

1 June 2017
Office of Environment and Heritage
Publication, Plan of management, Draft - closed for comment
  • ISBN 978-1-76039-781-4
  • ID OEH20170219
  • File PDF 2.5MB
  • Pages 68
  • Name upper-nepean-state-conservation-area-draft-plan-management-170219.pdf

This plan of management also covers extensive areas of land proposed for addition to Upper Nepean State Conservation Area, including:

  • approximately 5000 hectares, currently held by Water NSW, at the southern end of the park
  • several parcels of unreserved lands west of the Hume Motorway that are vested in the Minister administering the National Parks and Wildlife Act 1974 for the purposes of Part 11 of that Act. These lands acquired from Water NSW are not yet reserved as part of the park. Those with substantial values will be reserved as part of the park; those without will be considered for sale or transfer of ownership.

The southern part of the corridor of the partially constructed Maldon– Dombarton Railway Line is also currently Part 11 land.

Reservation of these lands under the National Parks and Wildlife Act would make Upper Nepean State Conservation Area a single contiguous area of approximately 30,300 hectares.

The existing state conservation area, the Part 11 lands and Water NSW lands identified as additions to the state conservation area are collectively referred to as ‘the park’ in this plan of management.

The park’s extent was determined largely by the requirement to exclude key water supply infrastructure and existing coal mining developments. It excludes Lake Nepean and Nepean Dam, which have been retained by Water NSW up to the full supply level plus five metres, together with associated infrastructure. It also excludes the northern part of the Maldon– Dombarton Railway corridor.

The park is part of the Metropolitan Special Area, declared in 1880 to protect the land of the Upper Nepean catchment. It was formerly administered by Sydney Water Board, before Sydney Catchment Authority was formed in 1999 to manage and protect Sydney’s catchment areas. Water NSW, established in 2014, now undertakes the catchment management roles formerly undertaken by Sydney Catchment Authority. Water NSW retains a joint management role with NPWS for the park.